

# Annual General Meeting 2017 JANUARY 25, 2018 MINUTES

1. Call to order – 6:45PM. Minimum quorum of 15 members achieved.

Voting Members	Guests
1. Thomas Hwang, Director (President)	(none)
2. Susan Demchuk, Director (Membership)	
3. Andrew Harries, Director (Grounds)	
4. Reid Clarke, Director (Treasurer)	
5. Naeem Rehman, Director (Fundraising)	
6. Hank Yap, Director (Juniors)	
7. Ivana Stakic, Director (Vice President)	
8. Rana Ankit, Director (Social)	
9. Tom McInerney	
10. Lorraine Logan	
11. Gord Richardsen	
12. Doug Porter	
13. Patrick Thomas	
14. Andrew Little	
15. Marti Evans	
16. Monica Hess	
17. Don Brander	
18. Mark MacConnell	
19. Janice Hansen	

- 2. Introduction, President
- 3. Adoption of the Minutes of the 2016 Annual General Meeting
  - Motion, Thomas Hwang; Second Naeem Rehman. Approved.
- 4. Adoption of the President's Annual Report
  - Motion, Naeem Rehman; Second Ivana Stakic. Approved.



## 5. Adoption of the Auditor's Financial Report

- The Treasurer informed the members that the audit was not completed and therefore draft statements were not available. Discussions ensued around:
  - Concerns over why audit was not completed despite the extension of time to hold the AGM being approved by the members at the 2017 special meeting.
  - Delay in receiving Tennis Canada invoice for 2017 Futures
     Tournament and some sponsors not having paid amounts yet.
  - Bookkeeping matters and items still requiring the club manager's assistance to resolve. The 2017 club manager securing a full-time job so will not be returning for the 2018 season.
- Motion: "To defer the approval of the Auditor's Financial Report and Audited Financial Statements to the incoming Board."
  - Reid Clarke; Second Naeem Rehman. Approved.

#### 6. Election of Directors for the 2018 Board

- Returning (for 2<sup>nd</sup> year of term):
  - Vice President (Ivana Stakic)
  - Social (Rana Ankit)
  - Tournaments (Arthur Barbosa)
  - Grounds (Andrew Harries)
- Departing Roles
  - Susan Demchuk (Memberships) and Allison Kalmakoff (Communications) chose not to continue on the Board. The Board and Members thank them for their contributions.
- Open for Election
  - President, Thomas Hwang
    - Motion, Hank. Second Naeem. Approved.
  - Treasurer, Reid Clarke
    - Motion, Susan. Second Patrick. Approved.
  - Juniors, Hank Yap
    - Motion, Thomas. Second Rana. Approved.
  - Memberships, Lorraine Logan
    - Motion, Thomas. Second Don B. Approved.
  - Secretary, <u>Tom McInerney</u>



- Motion, Thomas. Second Naeem. Approved.
- Fundraising, Naeem Rehman
  - Motion, Andrew. Second Mark M. Approved.
- Communications (deferred)

### 7. Adoption of the Annual Fee Structure for 2018

- Motion: "To adopt a no fee increase to membership dues for the 2018 season."
  - Thomas; Second Naeem. Approved.

## 8. Appointment of Auditor for 2018

- Motion: "To defer appointment of an auditor for 2018 season to the incoming board."
  - Reid Clarke; Second Naeem. Approved.

#### 9. New Business

None

# 10. Adjourn Meeting

• 8:09 pm